Buckeye2002

Chirping
Nov 15, 2018
Omaha, Nebraska
IMG-0593.JPG
IMG-0594.JPG

I am a BYC Rookie and I have 23 RIR chicks and they were a week old last Wednesday. I have them in a large kiddie pool (4 foot across) with 2 lamps, 2 feeders (now hanging off the floor) and 2 waterers. I just put a 3 foot wire fence (is that tall enough?) around the perimeter in preparation for when they are 8 weeks old at which time I plan to move them to their outdoor coop (my wife calls it my "Chicken Condo". I should post a picture.

My question is this: I just now have gotten them to actually come up to me and eat feed from my hand. In fact this started 2 days ago and now they seem to anticipate feed when I walk up to the pool. Now not all do this yet, but am I on schedule with them? I plan on free ranging them in the backyard and I want them to be very social with people.

Also, regarding moving them to the outdoor coop. I am in Omaha Nebraska and while we don't have extreme weather, it does get pretty cold here and we can get a good deal amount of snow. Should I wait a little longer before transferring them from my garage to the coop? If not, should I put heat lamps in the coop?

Any help for this newbie would be greatly appreciated. Oh, one more thing, is there such a thing as "treats" for chicks? In comparison to meal worms for adults.

Many thanks...

One thing you’ll learn as you take care/cleaning your coop is that you’ll make adjustments to suit you and your birds. Poop boards make clean up a snap so you might consider that when it comes to roosts. I’m old (lol) so roosts up high sounds like up high would be more work than waist high. Safer too for birds jumping down in a narrow space.
Don’t get discouraged your on the right track.
We’re all constantly learning and tweaking our own coops.
Do what’s best for you.
Everyone’s gonna give their 2 cents.
Best wishes