AMAZING SURVIVALS of super though coturnix species

Discussion in 'Quail' started by pascopol, Sep 18, 2010.

1. pascopol

pascopol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    Tampa Bay
    I been raising coturnix on and off for last 5 years, and in no way claiming I am an expert on them, but I will say that: They are little tought creatures.
    My firts hatch years ago. One somehow fell down on the floor in the evening or afternoon, while I was removing a batch from my bator without me taking notice. That was in winter, even in Fl nights are chilli, room temp was about 68-70 at the time. Next day I noticed it on the floor peeping still alive, put it back in the bator and it was OK.
    Then, my last hatch, took forever, 3 days and counting. I gave up on about 15 eggs out of 69. Tossed them in the plastic bucket with intention of doing autopsy later. That was yeasterday. Today I hear peeping coming from that room. One hatched in that bucket, fluffy dry, and alive, room temp was about 78-80 overnight. Hatched and survived about 16 hrs out of the bator.

There is a thread here somebody stating: Coturnix eggs will hatch sitting next to a bator. I would not argue with that! LOL Also I never lost one to natural causes like deseases old age etc. only accidents of my fault (drowning, strangling trying to pass through 1/2 inch wire etc.)

I noticed my coturnix hatches always start on 17 day not on 16 as most books say. Colder bator is out of question since I monitor the temp with digital AND quality mercury analog thermometer, also my chick hatches always come on 20th or 21st day under same conditions.

Also my coturnix hatches drags for 2 or 3 days, and still strong healthy chicks emerge.

With chickens those late ones either require help or hatch but they are weak and either die later or are culls anyway.

Can you guys share your amazing stories of quail survival here?

2. Denninmi

Denninmi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009