Amberlinks

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by tec27, May 6, 2011.

1. tec27

tec27 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Pittsburgh
    Okay this is my first time hatching chicks and mixing breeds and such so i had a question. Obviously if you breed two purebreds together you will get the same breed chick. However i know Amberlinks are a hybrid (RIR, and something else). I dont know what the other parental generation is. Google said it was a plymouth but im not sure. However, so my neighbor is giving me fertilized amberlink eggs (mother and father both being Amberlinks). So what would the offspring be? Taking genetics in college i know when you breed two hybrids together there will be a 1/4 of a chance of getting a purebred (the breed of the mother), 1/4 of a chance of getting a purebred (the breed of the father), and 1/2 a chance of getting the hybrid (Amberlink). Is this the case for Amberlinks, or are amberlink offspring all amberlink?

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Interesting question. I am not familiar with Amberlinks, but my understanding is that they are made by crossing a rooster with Silver over a hen with Gold, the reverse of a normal red sex link. So the chicks are not sex links. All of them should have yellow down at hatch. And there is no guarantee what the original breeds were to create your Amberlinks unless you have specific knowledge. Someone may use Delaware over a New Hampshire while someone else may use a White Rock over a RIR or even a Buff Orp. Or they will use some other combination.

So the pullets from this hatch will have a Silver from their father and give it to their sons. The roosters will be split for Silver and Gold, and will give one of these, no telling which, to all their offspring. Use S for Silver and s for Gold.