ameracauna genetics question-wheaton, blue wheaton

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by ladyfaeden, Feb 5, 2012.

1. ladyfaeden

ladyfaeden Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2011
    St. Helens, Oregon
    I am fairly new to Ameracaunas. I have blue and splash Ameraucana eggs that should hatch this week. I would eventually like to go wheaton/blue wheaton with this line and wondered if someone could tell me the best way to go about it. I'm guessing I should use the blue and not the splash? If I breed a blue to a wheaton or blue wheaton what would be the result? Also would love a recommendation for someone with really nice birds with that coloring. Thanks in advance!

2. Ducks and Banny hens

Ducks and Banny hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2011
    On a little Farm.
    Blue (E/E B/bl+) + Wheaten (e^wh/e^wh) = Black (or blue) with Leakage (E/e^wh)
    To breed wheatens from Blacks, cross a wheaten and a black, then cross the offspring with another wheaten, to give you 1/2 wheatens from this cross.
    To breed Blue wheatens, cross a Splash bird with a wheaten bird, then cross the offspring with another wheaten, giving you 1/4 wheatens, and 1/4 blue wheatens from this cross. Hope this helps.

3. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    It's easier to just get some hatching eggs or chicks from someone who already has wheatens and blue wheatens.

Last edited: Feb 5, 2012
  4. ladyfaeden

Dec 7, 2011
    St. Helens, Oregon

My.eggs are silkie feathered Ameracaunas- and I want to develop then in the wheaton colors. Right now they only come in the blue and splash. I know this will be a long project but appreciate finding out the genetics. Any suggestions on breeders?

Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  5. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona

6. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA