Ameraucana and Few OBuffs with my Girl.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rlcoxiii37, Dec 28, 2013.

1. rlcoxiii37

rlcoxiii37 New Egg

Dec 28, 2013
    [​IMG]

I'm new to all of this. Eight eggs appeared over the past week, my birds are about 10 months old and the temp is in the low 40's to mid 30's in WA. Heat lamp is in the outdoor coop but RC (Rooster Cogburn) and the Peckers are staying to one side of the heat lamp and not laying on the eggs. I'm assuming due to the nature of the BO's I need to turn the heat lamp off and maybe they'll brood? Coop is approximately 2.5'd (maybe a little more with brooder) x 3'w x 2.5h , good upper ventilation, and a fair amount of hay. In the garage I have a separate cage for chicks with wood chips if I need to transfer them? .Should I move the chicks to the garage after acclimating with the other birds to keep the warm for the next 6 weeks or so? I'm at the base of a mountain and the sun is down around 3pm and it's only going to get colder.

On a side note,my girl use to help me round up the chickens...now they walk between her legs...****!

r

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]

3. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

Alright [​IMG] Have a great Time [​IMG]

gander007 [​IMG]

4. petrel

petrel Chats with Chickens

5. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. Your hens will go broody if and when they are ready - you can't rush mother nature.

6. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG] to BYC!

7. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio