Ameraucana Combs

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by johnmayersquare, May 7, 2008.

1. johnmayersquare

johnmayersquare Let's Talk About Chicks, Man!

Nov 17, 2007
    Port Orchard, WA
    Do Ameraucana chicks develop red in their combs, indicating that they would possibly be a roo??? I have several "supposed" pullets that look like their combs are a bit "redder" than the other ones.........

Thanks!

2. BettyR

BettyR Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2008
    Texas Gulf Coast
    I don’t know about the color of the comb they all look the same color to me; this is my first time to raise Ameraucanas (mine are 3 weeks old) but one chick looks like a small hawk. I’d just about be willing to bet that it’s the roo. It’s bigger and stouter than the rest of the chicks and has a really big head. Whatever it is it’s going to be a beautiful bird.

I ordered 8 pullets and 1 roo; about 5 days after I got them I lost one of the chicks and I was really afraid that it was the roo but I think I lucked out and kept my roo. [​IMG]

How old are your babies? By the time they are 4 to 5 weeks old the roos should really be starting to stand out.

3. mmajw

mmajw Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2008
    Maine
    Can you post a pic? I have some that are hens with redish combs and some with pale colored combs.

4. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Here are male and female Ameraucana chicks at four weeks old. If you have EE chicks, the comb traits will still hold true for them. The males will get a wide, thick, raised comb with usually three distinct ridges rather than just a flattish comb with only the center prominent like the females. The first two are male, the others female:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. johnmayersquare

johnmayersquare Let's Talk About Chicks, Man!

Nov 17, 2007
    Port Orchard, WA