1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Ameraucana hen or rooster?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Cluckeup, Apr 23, 2018.

1. Cluckeup

Cluckeup In the Brooder

Apr 18, 2018
    I have 2 Ameraucanas and I think this one is a rooster, any thoughts? Just turned 8 weeks old. 20180423_184250.jpg

MatthewsHomestead likes this.
  2. peachyduckies

peachyduckies Waterfowl Enthusiast

Apr 21, 2018
    Illinois
    I have no idea what gender, but I believe that’s an Easter Egger.. :oops:

I’m a complete newbie to chickens, but don’t real Ameraucanas have muffs and beards? I don’t see a beard on this chicken, but I don’t have the best eyesight, either. :idunno

3. Cluckeup

Cluckeup In the Brooder

Apr 18, 2018
    I wouldn't be surprised. Whenever I asked about the difference between Ameraucanas and Easter eggers the shops selling them always told me, they are the same. I knew that wasn't true, but my final purchase was labeled an Ameraucana. At 8 weeks old i just can tell if they are hens or not.

MatthewsHomestead likes this.
  4. MatthewsHomestead

MatthewsHomestead Free Ranging

Feb 21, 2018
    NC Foothills
    Gorgeous is what he/she is. Hard to tell for me. And I raise Amerecaunas. My Roos have the definitive "mane" colorings......

5. MatthewsHomestead

MatthewsHomestead Free Ranging

Feb 21, 2018
    NC Foothills
    Although it does look a bit henish to me. No real waddles showing.....stature looks like my hens do. Roos will tend to stand taller in the tail not downward.......

6. redranger209

redranger209 Crowing

Apr 17, 2016
    Oakdale, CA
    Looks like a cockerel to me. Red is coming in on the wings and shoulders, and the comb is big for 8 weeks.

PachecoPeeps likes this.
  7. Cluckeup

Cluckeup In the Brooder

Apr 18, 2018