Ameraucana X Orpington ROOSTER - egg colour genes?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by landgirl, Feb 22, 2017.

1. landgirl

landgirl New Egg

I have an ameraucana X orpington rooster and am wondering if he will pass on blue or green egg colour to his offspring? He has a pea comb but no beard.
    The lady I got the hatching eggs from successfully breeds ameraucanas with orpingtons to create hens that lay pale green eggs. But what about the roosters? What colour will he pass on?
    Please use examples. Such as if he breeds with an ameraucana hen, or a hen that lays brown eggs, or a hen that lays white eggs? I know how egg colour works - ex: blue + brown = green, etc. But I'm wondering what gene he actually carries and if its a guarantee with crossing these two breeds?
    NOTE: I am not breeding professionally.
    thank you!

Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  2. lomine

lomine Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2015
    Peyton, CO
    I'm no expert but I'll share what I think. If he was breed from a true Ameraucana then he will carry at least one gene for blue eggs. A brown egg is actually a white egg with a brown bloom. He might have inherited the gene for brown or he might not have. He may have one gene for blue and one gene for white.

So he could pass either gene on to his offspring. If he breeds with another true Ameraucana then the offspring would lay blue eggs because they would get a blue gene from the hen and blue is dominate over white. If he breeds with a brown layer the offsprings could lay blue, green, brown, or even white. Breed with a white layer the offspring could lay blue, brown, or white. It all depends on which genes he passes on.

Of course this all changes if his parent stock was an Easter Egger and not an Ameraucana. Even if a hen lays a blue egg it doesn't mean she carries two blue genes. So an EE rooster might not carry two blue genes.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas