Ameraucanas vs EE

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by abhaya, Dec 21, 2010.

1. abhaya

abhaya Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010
    cookeville, tn
    I am kinda new to chicken keeping and the Ameraucanas vs EE confuses me. Whats the difference? How can you tell them apart? some of the online places use the names interchangeably.

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
  3. TK Poultry

TK Poultry Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2009
    Greencastle, Indiana
    you'll find that it can be very complicated for some to define what's an EE and whats an Ameraucana.

Anything you buy from a hatchery=EE
    anything called an ameraucana with green legs=EE
    anything without a pea comb that is called an ameraucana=EE.

Those are some big ones that I have run across with having ameraucanas for about 2 years. If you just look at a good ameraucana and there are some of Feathersite and then you look at your average EE they will then just stick out like a sore thumb. One more little thing. If they look like they have a very "unique" pattern and the person/business is calling them an Ameraucana/Araucana that is something to look out for because those are EE's as well. hope my quick over view helped a little

Tyler

4. SilkieTime

SilkieTime Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2009
    Joelton Tn.
    Lets see that sore thumb [​IMG]
    Price is the big differents and you can't take him to the show as an ameraucana.

5. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Quote:Trust me I know PLENTY people who sell their EE's at the same price as Ameraucanas and vice versa.

Also, sorry but they do stick out. It's called having a recognized color that breeds true, having the right leg color, and in some other cases having a beard/muffs or a pea comb.