American Buff Geese

Pics

ColtHandorf

🙄🤚 Sass Master
Premium Feather Member
5 Years
Feb 19, 2019
Klondike, Texas
It looks like I’ll be getting a pair of these gorgeous geese this weekend. Someone is moving and can’t keep them. They are just over a year old and the hen has just begun laying. I had Chinese geese over 15 years ago and that’s been ages. Can any American Buff owners chime in with experiences and tips on keeping them? I want to be sure they have a great home here.

Lucky you! I LOVE my American Buff geese. I bought a pair last year, and since they are my first geese, I'm no expert. People in the "real world" often tell me that they and family members have had experiences with mean geese, but my two are nothing like that.

On those occasions when they refuse to go to their secure house at night, I can easily pick each one up and move it into the shelter. Golly, the gander, is a bit less compliant, but Gussie, the goose, will simply curl up and put her neck and head across my shoulder as I carry her across the yard.

They have also made their first nest, and I am eagerly waiting to see what happens next.

Congrats on your new Buffs!

Thanks! :) I'm pretty excited about getting them. I've had Chinese in the past and the sheer volume of six breeding pairs and the snarky behavior was beyond annoying. I'm hoping the experience with these will be much more pleasant.

I'm planning on letting them roam the fenced back yard during the day (60ft x 100ft or so) and then move them into the chicken pen when I get home from work so they can shelter in the house over night and the dogs can have the backyard to play in.