Americauna or EE..?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by jaxchic, Aug 22, 2013.

1. jaxchic

jaxchic Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 9, 2013
    Florida
    Hello all, I am new to chickens but it has quickly become my favorite pastime..I have spent hours reading about the different breeds but I still can't decipher what breed this female is.
    My boyfriend bought three of them a few years back from a feed store and she is the only one left.
    She is the main egg layer of the ranch. She lays large bright blue/green eggs. She is a fairly heavy girl with very dark legs.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    In that last pic the game type rooster is her mate. I have her fertilized eggs under another broody hen right now so I will hopefully have some mix babies soon.

2. jaxchic

Aug 9, 2013
    Florida
    Btw, her neck normally doesn't look that long, I think she was just stretching it a bit as I was following her around with the camera

3. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    An Easter Egger is not a breed. It is a name given to chickens that usually lay blue or green eggs and do not meet the breed standards for Ameraucana or Araucana.

Most birds sold as Ameraucana from hatcheries do not meet the breed standards, so they are called Easter Eggers.

Your hen was sold at a feed store, so that means the hen came from a hatchery. 99% chance it is an Easter Egger.

4. jaxchic

Aug 9, 2013
    Florida
    This feed store is small and local and my boyfriends mother has frequently traded rabbits and chicks in exchange for bags of feed, so not All of their chicks are from a hatchery. Thanks for the reply.

5. Lady of McCamley

Lady of McCamley Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2011
    NW Oregon
    Unless the chick came from a breeder who is very carefully following the breed standards, it generally would be considered an EE as most hatcheries and small farms breed EE's.