Angel wings/growth spurt?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by nes, Jul 26, 2011.

1. nes

nes Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2009
    Outside Ottawa
    My girl is around 7-8 weeks now, her flight feathers are just coming in on the edge of her wings & her wings are starting to really stick out (compared with her brothers); is this normal at her age? or do I need to start worrying about angel wings?

2. Kschwartz

Kschwartz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2011
    One of my ducks was going through the same thing just last week! She is 6-7 wks old and her flight feathers are also coming in and this is my first time raising ducks so I really didn't know what to expect. Part of her wings looked like they were almost sticking up, so I was worried that it might be Angel's wing. I decided to wait a week or so, and now her wings look normal again. I think its just a bit of an illusion when the flight feathers are first coming in, so I wouldn't worry about it unless is persists for several weeks, then your duck may have angel wing.

3. jbrown_14105

jbrown_14105 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 24, 2010
    Hello,
    I just adopted a Pekin drake with a angel wing....I'll let you know.
    Though he doesn't seem bothered by it.
    Jim Brown
    Lockport NY

4. AdamD77

AdamD77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Bedfordshire, England
    A picture would really help when it comes to angel wing...

5. Hattiegun

Hattiegun Chillin' With My Peeps

yes its normal .. growth spurt... she should be okay.

6. Czech's_chicks

Czech's_chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2011
    Vista, CA
    angel wing is normally caused to too high protein in the feed. It isn't self correcting, but is an easy fix...duct tape. I would wrap the affected wing(s) and then double over the tape and attach a little to the body so it's easily removed but still created a stable form for the wing to grow against. kind of like braces for teeth:D

7. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps