Another "Baby Chicks" Thread

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Velocirooster, Feb 17, 2017.

1. Velocirooster

Velocirooster Out Of The Brooder

Jan 21, 2017
    My Baby Chicks List

Brooder
    Heat Lamp
    Waterer
    Feeder
    Bedding
    Feed
    Grit

I have no doubt I'm missing something, so please chime in! Also, if there are specific brands of something I should use, or steer clear of, please let me know!

Hoping for chicks around the end of March.

Also, where would you keep your brooder? In the garage, coop? My coop is big enough to hold the brooder.

How soon would you let them leave the brooder?

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Are there other birds already in the coop? If not, you can skip the brooder all together and brood them directly in the coop.

3. Velocirooster

Jan 21, 2017
    No other birds. This is my first time.

4. Ol Grey Mare

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    That does open up the option of just using the coop as your brooder - (even with other birds it is still an option, just may require some modification to accommodate both the new chicks and the existing flock safely) - some advantages of this are that you don't have the mess of chicks in the house (they are DUSTY little buggers and even with vigilant housekeeping of the brooder some folks find their odor offensive) and you don't have to deal with the later transition phase when you do move them out to the coop. If your coop is a walk-in style it also lends itself very well to socializing the chicks more easily as you are able to interact with them at their level vs. reaching down into a brooder which can cause a stress reaction that makes the interactions less positive. There are many ways to raise chicks - no one right way, only a matter of finding the one that is right for you and your birds.