Another dog attack - help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mcclucker, Sep 30, 2016.

1. mcclucker

mcclucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2016
    VT
    My Coop
    I'm brand new to chickens - my first flock is 4 months old. They were doing some monitored free ranging this afternoon and the neighbors dog got off leash and bit my favorite BO pullet on her backside under her tail. She has two tears - one is next to the vent and one is lower down. Shes not laying yet. She is bleeding but not excessively. The skin does pull away though to expose a bit of muscle. Maybe a half inch tear? We have sprayed vetericyn on the wounds and separated her in a playpen with a heating pad in the garage. I've given her some electrolytes and hard boiled egg (her fave) and I will find some blue cote tomorrow. When is the right time to use that? She is definitely in shock (shivering, feather fluffing, hunching over) but was eating and drinking and pooping and is not happy about the playpen. No blood in poop. She is the low girl in the pecking order so I separated her right away.

I'm so sad this is my favorite girl- what else can I do? Do I need antibiotics or to sew her up? (I think that would be a vet visit - the kids and I are really attached to this girl). What should I watch out for? It wasn't a big dog thank goodness and my neighbor feels really bad. :(

I'll post a pic later when she's not so spooked.

2. runt325

runt325 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2016
    don't do anything until tomorrow morning and see what shape shes in if she get worse go take her to a vet

3. runt325

runt325 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2016
    but a pic would be helpful can u post one

4. Adalida

Adalida Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2015
    Montana