1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Another "Is This Fertilized" Egg Question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by uzisuzuki, Dec 15, 2014.

1. uzisuzuki

uzisuzuki Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2014
    Colorado
    I know there are a bunch of these already posted and that each one has that really great picture with the bullseye on the yolks, but I'm still not sure if I'm reading my hens eggs right (right up there with reading runes and tea leaves it feels like). So, this is my first time tending chickens and I have 1 Silver Sebright rooster (unknown age) and 4 Golden Laced Polish hens (between 7-9 months of age). Two of the hens just started laying eggs last week and this is what they looked like:

[​IMG]
    (no photo editing)

[​IMG]
    (some editing on the brightness/contrast)

I thought that I could see a bullseye on the lower one and not the top one, but I'm not at all confident in my assessment because someone who knows more about chickens than me suggested that the top one is the fertile one. I would be most appreciative for more opinions before I decide to buy an incubator and try my hand at hatching. This is more out of curiosity than trying to make money off chicks/fertilized eggs (I honestly didn't think the hens would ever lay eggs because of what I've heard about the breed), so if they're not being fertilized that's okay with me too. :)

Thanks!

2. AmericanMom

AmericanMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2013
    Oregon
    Its actually the top one that looks more bulleyish to me... Some eggs its is obvious and some not so much... I have been doing this for a year, incubating eggs, and sometimes I have a hard time..

3. uzisuzuki

Oct 30, 2014
    Colorado