Another newbie and her coop!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by erinlee, Jun 18, 2010.

1. erinlee

erinlee Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2010
    Baldwin MI
    Hello! I'm new to BYC, but so glad I found you guys! I've been lurking for a while, but finally decided to jump in and post now that I've almost got my coop done.

I managed to get a page done of my coop progress so far, I'd love to hear what you guys have to say. Anything I should change/add to make it better? All input is welcome as I am new to all of this! I'm anxiously awaiting my first chicks next week; I've got the brooder all ready for them and I can't wait! As my husband and I are going to be involved with building our new horse barn here pretty soon, I wanted to get the chicken coop finished now before we start that project so the girls will have a place to go when they outgrow the brooder.

I do need to put a big thanks out to nwmud and nwgirl here on BYC as I liked their coop so much that I pretty much copied it! I hope they don't mind. I really loved the looks of it though and it seemed to be just what I was looking for.

Here's a link to my page with all the details: https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=60288

Here's
    a picture of it as well:
    [​IMG]

2. 4theloveofhens

4theloveofhens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2010
    [​IMG] AWESOME!

3. PineappleMama

PineappleMama Chillin' With My Peeps

OH I LOVE IT!!

I was just thinking how lame it is that in all my researching I never once thought of the traditional barn colors/style.

There's a great big DOH!

Yours is just cute as a bug... oh wait, the girls ate the bug... it's cute as a styrofoam peanu... errr... cute as a 2x4, that's what it is.

4. kfchickenlady

kfchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    N.Calif.
    wow, so cute!! Nice job [​IMG] do the windows lock against raccoons etc?

5. buffbuttercup

buffbuttercup Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2010
    Oregon