1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Another Newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by yinzerchick, Jun 13, 2011.

1. yinzerchick

yinzerchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2011
    E.Texas
    Hi everyone! I've been reading the BYC for about a year now, there is so much great information on here!
    I am new to chickens, I have never even been around them before, but owning a flock was part of my plan. I jumped in with both feet and got my first 26 chicks on 3/27/11. I have RIRs, Barred Rocks, Araucanas, Gold Lace Wyandottes, and Red Stars. 24 hens, and 1 rooster, then they throw in a free rare breed, which turned out to be a Polish Buff Crested rooster. They're 11 weeks old and seem to be doing really well.
    We, my husband and me, relocated to E. Texas from Pittsburgh PA. (The kids are grown and gone now)

We arrived with our dog Kate, a shepherd/lab mix, 11 years old, and Choo Choo, our tabby/calico cat, 15 years old. Today, we also have 2 sweet nubian goats, Thelma and Louise, 3 onery Donkeys, Pearl, Ruby and Opal, a pretty black stray cat that showed up, Boo, and now her 4 kittens (almost 4 months old now) Crash, Little Bear, Hobbes and Ting Ting. I couldn't bare to seperate them...I also promised they would be outside cats, but right now they are all laying on our bed in the air conditioning because I think it's too hot out for them.[​IMG]

I have 26 more chicks arriving mid July, and I am hoping to start getting some eggs in the next month or two. I'm learning as I go, and this site has really helped me. I hope I can maybe help out another newbie sometime. I'll post some pics as soon as I figure out how. Looking forward to chatting with fellow chicken lovers!

Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  2. ThePigeonKid