1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

another rant out of me re. people who dont get it

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by QuinnP, Mar 30, 2011.

1. QuinnP

QuinnP Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2010
    Oregon
    I lost my son Seanna to miscarriage on Feb 19 (too many chromosomes) I am devastated, & recently a counselor tried to make me feel better by telling me she knew how I felt because she had a dog that she cherished & loved & it died. A DOG!? I have been fighting infertility for 7 years, lost a precious pregnancy & she thinks losing a dog can compare to losing my baby?! While I love my pets dearly & yes refer to my rooster as my son, it still shocked me to hear that. Its still quite hard to deal with. I'm so upset.

I understand that the American way of dealing with death is usually to deny it, or try to minimize it. I couldn't speak when Jan told me that about the dog. Nobody knows what it is like to lose a baby unless they've been there. Sorry but a dog doesn't count. Tjhis is the 4th time I have failed at motherhood.

2. hennyannie

hennyannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    North Carolina
    I am so sorry for your loss. Does this person have kids?

3. Karrie13

Karrie13 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Minnesota
    I am so sorry to hear about your loss and the insensitivity of the counselor. I love my pets dearly but they don’t hold a candle to a child. The counselor doesn’t sound very qualified to “counsel”.
    You aren’t a failure at motherhood, nature is the problem.
    [​IMG]

4. QuinnP

Mar 26, 2010
    Oregon
    Quote:One

5. QuinnP

Mar 26, 2010
    Oregon
    I hurt so much. I cant breathe because of anxiety today.

6. keedokes

keedokes Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2009
    Milwaukee, WI