Antibotics or other solution?????

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by croddey19, Mar 7, 2015.

1. croddey19

croddey19 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 20, 2015
    Hey y'all I'm new to the BYC site and new to being a duck momma! [​IMG] I was wondering, I have a pack of 4 Pekin ducklings but one duck ( they are about 5 weeks old now ) seems to be "coughing" - now he/she seems to be the one trying to quack more than the others. I wasn't sure if I should maybe get some antibotics from my local TS and treat him/her or if it would hurt him/her if she didn't need it? Any other suggestions before I have to make a long ( closetest vet that handles ducks is an hour and a half away) and expensive trip to the vet ( minimum $160 for first hour - that's not including any labs ).

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Welcome to BYC

Can you tell us a little about your set up[brooder] what your using for bedding what your feeding do they have a bowl or bucket deep enough to wash their entire head in? what are the temps in your brooder and is the bedding wet? all of these can contribute to coughing getting dust in the throat dry food and not having access to water while eating wet bedding can cause mold and that can cause respiratory issues. Before doing antibiotics how about trying some ACV for a couple of days 1-2 tab to 1 gallon of drinking water. if you can get Braggs or another with the mother in it that would be best. Is there any other symptoms?

3. croddey19

Feb 20, 2015