Anxiously awaiting ducklings

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Niche Flock, Mar 22, 2017.

1. Niche Flock

Niche Flock Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2017
    Hey everyone,
    This is my first time on BYC and I thought I would reach out to see if anyone has had a similar situation like the one I am having now. I currently have a small flock of six ducks (5 female Indian Runners & 1 female Cayuga). Two ducks I inherited and 4 I purchased from Hoover Hatchery about this time last year. In January I placed an order with Metzer Farms in CA for delivery in March. The order I placed was for 5 female Welsh Harlequins, 5 female Khaki Campbells & 2 female Cayugas. They were shipped out on March 20th, and because I live on the East Coast they were to arrive today, March 22nd. I visited my local post office yesterday and mentioned that I am expecting ducklings, left my name and number checked to see when their deliveries were etc. Today I anxiously waited for a phone call and visited my post office again and informed them that I am awaiting a delivery of ducklings. They didn't have them and asked for the tracking number. I didn't receive one with my email confirmation so I phoned Metzer and they were very nice and emailed me a tracking number. I looked the number up on USPS and I can see that the order shipped out on Monday the 20th but there is no additional info about arriving at any destination or local distribution center (which I would have driven to had it had arrived there).I am beyond stressed wondering where my duckings are. It is rather cold where I live and hope that whatever facility they are being stored at is ventilated and heated. I hope the gro gel they have lasts and that they are not dead. This is my first time buying with Metzer and I know they have a good repuatation. I am concerned that the delay is some hiccup on the USPS and am freaking out. Has anyone else had a situation where their ducklings came a day later than the delivery date