1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Any advice from managers out there?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by superchemicalgirl, Oct 27, 2010.

1. superchemicalgirl

superchemicalgirl HEN PECKED

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    I'm looking for some advice from managers.

I'm a relatively young professional who, until recently, was very content doing the best job I could in a position without a lot of managerial oversight. In the few years I've worked for the organization I've held many subordinate positions within the same general area; I am content being moved around as the organization sees fit as I realize every position helps the units mission. I strive to be competent in any position in which I'm placed. I do not like to be seen personally or as part of an organization that is viewed as incompetent.

About two months ago a mid level manager stepped down. The job needed to be filled in the interim. The head boss did whatever brainstorming magic he does and somehow came up with me as the best fit for the job. I originally turned him down for many reasons that I won't go into here. The next day he came to me and asked me to fill it as a personal favor. I accepted.

So here I am.