Any advice? They will be alone for a few days...

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by JerseyWooly, Nov 24, 2009.

1. JerseyWooly

JerseyWooly Out Of The Brooder

Oct 5, 2009
    Ok, I thought I had a great set-up. Small coop, big run, chicken-wire all around and into the ground- everything I can think of. But what I'm reading on this board scares the hell out of me! I put them in the coop-run for the first time today, got home after dark and saw a skunk hanging around. First time I'd seen one here in the seven years I've been here. Now I'm reading that they're chicken killers!

I have to leave my chickens alone for two days. Is there ANY advice anyone can give me that will help keep my coop and run air tight while I'm gone? Or is it a crap shoot despite our best efforts? This is really bumming me out, and I'm not going to enjoy my vacation if it's 50/50 I'll lose the birds.

2. Qi Chicken

Qi Chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2009
    Believe me--I'm no expert--But I think it depends on the size of your coop and the number of birds you have. If you have 4 square feet per standard bird inside your coop I would close the door to the run for the duration of your vacation. They can be inside for that long. I assume your coop is more secure than the run. If you are gone you will not be able to monitor the outside and wouldn't be able to fix a small problem before it becomes a big problem. I guess it depends on how secure you feel the main coop will be. Good luck!

3. JerseyWooly

Oct 5, 2009
    Thanks for the advice. The coop is about four square feet (maybe a little more) total, not including the two laying quarters. Whatever the case may be, all these nightmares have convinced me to move the coop into the garage and make a small run from my tractor cart. I'll have to cage a dome over the top so they have a place to go besides the coop but don't fly around the garage getting into trouble.