Any butchering tips from fly tyers?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Black wallnut, Jan 7, 2014.

1. Black wallnut

Black wallnut Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2013
    My rooster has to go. He has attacked me for the last time. I'd like to know how to kill him without damaging the hackles. Any thoughts?

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    You can slit the throat with a very sharp knife, or cut the head off, going as high as possible. Fly tyers will be interested in the hackle and saddle feathers. I butchered out 3 roos and skinned them, gave them to a fly tying friend. He cured the pelts with dry Borax, said it worked well.

3. BarredBuff

BarredBuff Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2009
    Tie upside down by his legs while he is a live, and then slit his throat.

4. Black wallnut

Black wallnut Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2013
    Thanks for your comment. For the record I am a former professional tyer. The most prized neck hackle feathers are generally closer to the top of the head. Cutting the head off anywhere jeopardizes the neck feathers. On roosters the Saddle feathers also called hackle is also desirable. On hens nearly all of the feathers are or can be useful but because of how they are used there is such an abundance that cost and sourcing is not really a factor. Although it has been literally over 20 years since I bought top quality necks of saddles $65 and $25 was the going price respectively. That said the top quality is from chickens that have been bred specifically for feather quality and most run of the mill roosters pale in comparison with feather quality.

The good news is the way I scolded my Roo yesterday must have worked because he ran from me today. :) Maybe he might live long enough to allow me to have a hen sit on a clutch of eggs in mid February.

5. lazy gardener

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE