Any coop ideas?

Debbie1

In the Brooder
7 Years
Nov 29, 2012
I'm back. I've been putting off getting chickens for three years now. This year I might do it. My main problem is getting a good coop built. Low cost and something easy. My carpenter skills are limited. I've been looking at kits and like the Chicken Saloon website. I can only have six hens where I live. Any thoughts?

Here's an old thread you may be interested in:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/755339/stay-away-from-chicken-saloon

I think all "kit" type coops will be disappointing in size, quality and ease of cleaning.

The price on the one for 6 chickens is over $500 without a run and likely not of adequate size. I would suggest you look for a local carpenter to build what you want and likely will get more for your money and a better home for your chickens.

Any Coop Ideas???

There are hundreds here.....just start reading!
big_smile.png

Don't underestimate your building abilities. A lot can be done with basic hand tools if you take your time and plan things out. Keep in mind that contrary to what you may see here where people are installing sheet rock interiors, tile floors, and chandeliers- chickens have a pretty low standard for what they will be happy in. They need protection from predators, drafts, and temperature extremes but beyond that they don't really care how perfect your carpentry is so long as it meets the criteria above. I would start simple and small if you are not confident in your construction abilities but I think almost anything you build will be better than the pre-fab coops which are small and flimsy.