Any differences to note in a Quail brooder vs Chicken brooder?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by sahara910, Mar 12, 2017.

1. sahara910

sahara910 Just Hatched

Mar 11, 2017
    Hi,
    We have Quail eggs in the incubator (12 but looks like only 10 are fertile we will revisit that). I am a homeschooler/ group teacher with high schoolers. Last year we incubated chicken and housed them in an outpak brooder with a Brisnea Heater. This year we have coturnix (we think) quail. We won't have them in the brooder but for 3 weeks (3.5 tops).
    So this year I have a huge cardboard box from an office chair I was going to lay on it's side, seal the side and then cut what is now the top. Poke a hole for the Brisnea EcoGlow heater. My original plan was to use pine shavings and then raise them up under the heater to ensure the young chicks could reach the plate but now I am not so sure about shavings... will they eat them? Should I switch to something else? If so what? Carefresh? Pellets?

And is it ok to use marbles in the chick feeder (the kind a mason jar screws into) and use that or do I need to buy the smaller quail waterer attachment?

What about food, last year we used medicated chick starter. These guys should have gamebird food instead I think? Any particular kind? Do I need to chop in in a food processor or anything?

Anything else I need to know? Do they fly (fly... I use that term loosely lol) any earlier than chicken chicks? or do I need to add anything else to the ground? ( I am thinking no because I remember reading about ground oyster shells but at laying age) Just want to be sure we do everything right :)

Thanks so much
    Sarah

2. birdmanmax

birdmanmax Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2016
    Central Michigan