Any experience with broody BO's ?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Barred Rocker, Jan 4, 2010.

1. Barred Rocker

Barred Rocker cracked egg

Jul 15, 2009
    King and Queen Co, Va
    This is my first year with Buff Orpingtons and I have three 6 month old and two 5 month old pullets and a roo. I hear that buffs are known for going broody fairly often and wondered if anyone had any that did so the first year. My 6 mo old's are starting to lay now and they are so sweet and friendly, I'd love for them to hatch a couple of batches this year. Otherwise I'm going to have to go with the bator.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  2. joedie

joedie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    Mine have gone broody several times in the first year and soon after they started laying. They haven't done so since it's been so cold though. I don't know if that has anything to do with it. As a matter of fact, the BO's are the only ones who have gone broody so far and I have RIR, BA, SLW, NHR, and EE's.

3. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight

In time they should go broody. mine has a 5 week old chick under her warm belly. I let her hatch 3, but 2 were roos,so I re-homed them.

4. Barred Rocker

Barred Rocker cracked egg

Jul 15, 2009
    King and Queen Co, Va
    Quote:Wow, I've heard they could start setting at a young age. I'm hoping they'll hold off at least a few more months. I just can't see raising chicks in this bitter cold. Btw, I have a sussex bantam that seems to live to go broody, she set 3 times last year and I had to take her eggs away twice this winter and guess what, she's started again this week. The only problem with her is that she raises her babies to be flighty so they grow up scared to death of people. That's why I'm hoping my BO's will go broody. My girls love me to death, they actually push each other off to perch on my knees and shoulders.

5. Junkmanme

Junkmanme Chillin' With My Peeps