Any experts want to weigh in on my new pair of Marans?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Kaceyx73, Aug 7, 2011.

1. Kaceyx73

Kaceyx73 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2010
    Hello all.

I just picked up a pair of Marans yesterday, and was wondering what some of the experts think of them, especially the rooster. All responses are welcome, but understand I am not looking specifically for show birds. I wanted them primarily for their original intent... beautiful eggs and wonderful meat. I do want them as well bred as possible, so a simple problem like eye color not the perfect shade or an extra point or 2 on the comb aren't as big of a deal to me. If I have the genetics to work with and get it all right, I will.

So here goes.

This is Lucian, an 8 month old Copper Blue Marans. Around him you can see Selene, a 1 year old Copper Black Marans hen. As I was told, Lucian's is lineage is from Whitmire Farms, though that's not where I got him. I'm still learning a lot of the technical terms, so be gentle please. lol

He does have the feathered shanks, while the hen does not. Both have darker eyes, and appear dark hazel up close. There eyes are much bigger than the birds have had before. Comb looks good to my untrained eyes, as does shape, though again I'm not fully up on some of the technical jargon. Legs are strong and thick, though the specs mention they shouldn't be too long. Comments? As for his color, again, it looks great to me, but I would like to hear from the experts. He does appear a little slim, and a bit narrow across the chest, but roos I have had before do tend to fill out later on. He's 8 months, and I have been told that most Marans now develop a little slower. ???

If anyone wants any additional info, just ask. Just got him, so I don't have tons of pics yet, if any feels a certain angle would be better, say so.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]