Any idea on gender

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Southernchickens, Aug 23, 2010.

1. Southernchickens

Southernchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Mobile, Alabama
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    These are supposed to be a male/female pair. One is darker in color and is slightly larger than the other. Does anyone know what gender they are? I was told that the darker one was the male.

2. turkeygirl

turkeygirl Out Of The Brooder

Jul 15, 2010
    Im really new to turkeys so dont count on it, but I would say the darker one looks more like a male to me but I think its to early to know for sure, how old are they? In a couple/few weeks you should be able to tell:) They are beautiful!!

3. Southernchickens

Jun 30, 2010
    Mobile, Alabama
    I just got them Saturday so I have no idea about age. I dont even know what kind they are yet.

4. Southernchickens

Jun 30, 2010
    Mobile, Alabama
    Antbody else have any ideas

5. boxermom

boxermom Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2009
    Spencer,IA
    They look like bourbon reds to me. I'd say around 3 mo old by coloring. Can't tell by size in the pic. I'm just comparing them to what my poults look like. I can't tell gender on my poults yet either. I'm starting to see the black edging on my older poults which signifies male, (thanks Steve [​IMG] ) but not yet on my younger ones.

6. Lagerdogger

Lagerdogger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Aitkin, MN
    The darker one looks like a bourbon red, but the lighter one seems too pale...perhaps a palm gene hidden in its background? Or maybe the photo is a little washed out? I'd guess the age at about 8 weeks. From those photos, I couldn't guess the sex. The darker one may be developing some larger caruncles near the base of the neck. In three more weeks it should be easier to tell the sex.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  7. PatS

PatS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Northern Califonia