Any ideas of how to stop House Sparrows from eating all the chicken feed???

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by dbg99, Feb 8, 2013.

1. dbg99

dbg99 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2011
    We have 3 red shavers in our backyard, with chicken feeder inside the coop which is obviously in the run. Dozens and dozens of house sparrows (http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/introduced-land-birds/page-11) fly into the coop and nail the feed each and every day. I'm not really keen on having to go out twice per day or so to feed the chickens and would rather the feeder do it's job. Any ideas how to stop the sparrows from nailing the food, short of building or buying a trestle feeder? Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. KIWI CHICK

KIWI CHICK Out Of The Brooder

Jan 19, 2013
    Hi. I am a relative newbie with chickens so I don't know if my advice is the best or not. I was having trouble with the rats-on-wings (sparrows!) too so I nailed up one of those curtains made up of strips of plastic. I put up one over the pop-hole and another over the main door as I have to leave it open at them moment as it is soooo hot here in New Zealand. The chooks haven't worried about the plastic strips, but the sparrows have completely stopped getting into the house. Hope that is of some help.

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Sparrow traps are very effective.

4. dbg99

dbg99 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2011
    Hi Kiwi Chick - i'm in NZ as well. Any chance of a picture of the plastic curtain you have up. Would love to see it. Thanks.

5. TerriLaChicks

TerriLaChicks Overrun With Chickens

Apr 23, 2008
    Central Louisiana
    Love the idea of the plastic strips & would also like to see a pic - we have the same problem here in Louisiana!

6. KIWI CHICK

Jan 19, 2013