Any ideas what happened??

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lilli, May 17, 2011.

1. lilli

lilli New Egg

May 17, 2011
    Hi, I'm New to the chick world but always wanted a silkie chicken. I bought one that was 2 days old. Brought her home and made her all comfy in her basket with the medicated food, watering container and heat light. She gained weight and was growing fast. She tried to fly out of the basket, even though I had put higher sides on it, so I bought her a cage. I spent alot of time with her and we bonded right away. I gave her short times out of the cage so she could run and play. On a Friday I noticed she wasn't walking steady. So I took her out of the cage so she could walk around and I could watch her walk and she looked like she had rubber legs but could pick herself up and walk normal. By the end of the day she was having a hard time breathing so held her and gave her some water on her beak. She drank it and within a short time she was breathing normal and cooing while I held her. Thinking she was better I put her in her cage and kissed her goodnight. The next morning she had died. I was crushed because she was a wonderful pet. Now my question....Having just one, would that have caused a problem for her? I would put her on the carpet to run and she would pick up anything she found...could she eaten something that would give her loose poops and cause her to become weak? Is there anything they would eat that would cause them to die from? I'm getting two on Sat. and just don't want to make any mistakes out of ignorance. I really only wanted one so it would bond to me and she did that very well. I spent alot of time with her along with the rest of my family members. Is there such a thing of handleing them to much? We would hold her for short periods and then put her back in her cage to poop. She loved to be held and would climb on my hands so I could pick her up when I asked her to. She followed me around and loved to cuddle in my