any suggestions on red mange?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Heathero617, Jun 20, 2011.

1. Heathero617

Heathero617 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2011
    Mosheim
    Took in a neglected Boston a week and a half ago, he's clearly got red mange >aka Demodectic mange< Have been bathing him with medicated shampoo knowing full well it will not cure him or even affect the mites. Just looking to give him a bit of relief until his immune system comes back into line. He was malnourished, caked in mud and muck, hit by a car and had a broken rib that was clearly never treated. I just want something to try and help him BEFORE i go and have all of those toxic things administered to him. Poor guy cant be any older than a year....if that. I read a recipe for peroxide and borax as a dip....anyone ever try it? Thanks in advance.

2. abluechipstock

abluechipstock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2009
    fort ashby, wv
    I was a vet tech and when dogs had demadex our vets would prescribe a small dose of ivermectin daily. Get your vet to give you the right dose because ivermectin can be neurotoxic. Good luck

3. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    Re: any suggestions on red mange?I was a vet tech and when dogs had demadex our vets would prescribe a small dose of ivermectin daily

1/10th ML per 10 lbs given orally , daily until 2 weeks after all symptoms disappear is what cured my dog​

4. Heathero617

Mar 1, 2011
    Mosheim
    Thanks, i was trying to get him feeling better before pumping him full of toxins or coating him in them. The ivermectin is proving difficult to find for some reason. Does it go by a different name? I've read that pour on for cattle will work orally but eesh i dont have any cattle and to buy a bottle seems a bit excessive to me.

5. dutchhollow

dutchhollow Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2008
    SW IA