Any venterinarians or vet students who may be willing to answer some questions?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Chickerdoodle13, Apr 20, 2012.

1. Chickerdoodle13

Chickerdoodle13 The truth is out there...

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hey guys! I graduated with a bachelors of science in Biology in December and I am planning on applying to vet schools over the summer. Looks like October 2nd is the magic date this year for applications!

I've been casually looking through lists of schools in the US, and had a few in mind, but realized I have to have a list of four by tomorrow so that I can get my GRE scores submitted to them. It's not that big a deal to submit scores later, but it is $23 a pop, so I figured I could save a few bucks and have them submitted tomorrow. I am planning so far to apply to Cornell, Penn Vet, Tufts (all relatively close to my home now. Furthest is about 4 hours away) and Colorado State University. I would like to apply to Texas A&M, but I need to do some more research about their requirements so I can add them later.

I take my GREs tomorrow. I am really nervous about it because I don't feel too confident taking standardized tests. I probably should have studied more, but I guess I will see how I do tomorrow and take it again in 60 days if necessary. So far it looks like my GPA is well above the average for vet schools and I have plenty of animal/vet/research experience. I am also trying to volunteer with an avian vet this summer because that is ultimately what I would like to get into.

I am really nervous about the process because I know getting into vet school is extremely competitive. I would love to find someone (or more than one person) who has gone through the process and can give me some tips. I have so many questions, but haven't had many people to ask about it. Many of my friends are applying or going through med school and while the process is similar, it is still completely different!