Anyone care to play the guessing game?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MetalSmitten, Apr 21, 2010.

1. MetalSmitten

MetalSmitten Songster

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana
    I'm a newbie chicken owner, I got my first ten chicks ever about a week ago, and so far so good! Everybody is growing and appear to be happy and healthy. I got six that are supposed to be BA and four that were "assorted pullets." Three of the assorted all look pretty much the same and have brownish/reddish feathers starting to come in for their tails and necks, but one seems to have a lighter buff color coming in. And then one of the BA's looks like she's gonna be more barred than the other five. Any guesses? [​IMG]

Chick 1 - with the reddish coming in:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick 2 - more buff:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick 3 - supposed to be a BA:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Any guesses would be appreciated! [​IMG]

2. wannabe_goatmom

wannabe_goatmom Songster

Jul 30, 2009
    Wellington KY
    I'm new at chickens too so I'm just guessing. The first one looks like my red sex link did at that age. The second one maybe a sex link too? And the last one doesn't look anything like my BA at that age.
    Here are some pics of her, the first is one week old and the second is around 3 weeks old.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will come along. [​IMG]

and [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 21, 2010
  3. mom2jedi

mom2jedi Songster

Aug 12, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    Not sure on your first two, but the third one is definitely not a BA. Looks like it might be a partridge something? What did it look like as a chick? Aussies will be black and yellow like the one in wannabe's picture.

4. MetalSmitten

MetalSmitten Songster

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana
    [​IMG]