anyone else got eggs hatching right now? (PHOTOS NOW)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by thecityman, Aug 15, 2010.

1. thecityman

thecityman Out Of The Brooder

Jun 14, 2010
    I'm still quite new to hatching eggs and though I've done it 2-3 times in the past, I forget how incredibly exciting and fun it is!!!! Anyone else going through the thrilling anticipation???
    I have about 40 quail eggs that are right on the verge of hatching....actually, one has already knocked the top off its egg but has been laying there for about 6 hours. Still breathing and wiggles a little once in a while. I'm not really worried about it yet. Its white, and I understand from you all that they often hatch first. The 40 that are due to hatch are all Coturnix and/or button (is button technically a coturnix?). I have Texas A & M's, Pharoh, and Tuxedos.... they were all set on Friday, July 30 so today is late on day 16...meaning I guess I'm still a little early for most of them. Because they are coturnix, they are almost impossible to candle...at least for me. SO I honestly have no idea whether all of them are likely to hatch or if only a few are viable. I have seen 3 eggs literally MOVING, kind of rocking, so at least a few seem to be on their way!!! One other one has peeped just a tiny bit.

I also set 9 bobwhites at the same time. They are easy to candle and they were 9 out of 9 alive when I candeled just before lockdown Friday..... BTW...that brings a quick question.....