Anyone else have a Cumfy Pets Chicken Ark?

jeanniejayne

Songster
11 Years
Nov 30, 2008
mid-Delaware
Hi everyone. I am a newbie and have been voraciously reading and learning. I recently won an ebay auction for a Cumfy Pets Chicken/Rabbit Ark. it is built in China (WHAT ISN'T?) and marketed by a British company with an American partner. I got what I think was an amazing deal, though the shipping was $195.! Even so, overall cost was about $250., and it seems to be very good quality -- pet-safe solid hardwood/ treated, hardware wire, etc. I see they have come out with an improved version with added ventilation and a tray under the roosts. My husband and I put it together in under 2 hours ( we are experienced Ikea builders!). Here is a link to an ebay auction of the version I have:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Chicken-coop-He...5|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:1|293:1|294:50

I am planning to get 2-4 hens. I would like heavy breeds such as Orpingtons/ Australorp, so will likely get 3. Have not decided whether to wait til Spring and get chicks from feed store, try hatching, or go to local auction/Craig's list and buy pullets or young birds. Meanwhile I will read and plan. This coop has two huge nest areas, and I was wondering if putting a small waterer in one wouldn't be a better use of space. Also will add more ventilation. We plan to add wheels as well, secure it to the ground somehow to deter diggers, and move it every day or two to a new space, probably within our 6" wooden privacy fence in the large backyard. Allow them out when we are home and outdoors once the weather is warm.

Comments and ideas very welcome. This site has been really helpful! Thanks to all.

JeannieJayne in mid-Delaware

Last edited: