Anyone gotten Ideal Poultry's Phoenixes (Phoeneces?) before?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Rosalind, Aug 2, 2008.

1. Rosalind

Rosalind Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2007
    DH, now having been charmed by Ailsa's rooster Sparrow, has decided to take an interest in chickens, and he announced that he wants a couple-two-three Phoenix roosters. Mostly as artist's models, as he is an artist by trade. I explained that there was a certain amount of hen-ness involved so as not to mess up the whole gender balance thing, and he sort of shrugged.

For the life of me I cannot find any local longtail breeders. Links I find online via Google are all broken/404. Ideal seems to have the best variety of longtails of all the hatcheries. I'm going to some farm animal type fairs in September, October, so I'll look then, but do you guys know of any longtail breeders in the Northeast US? Most of the pics I see from American breeders whose webpages are not 404, look about like hatchery quality anyway--the only really fantastic-looking ones seem to be done by overseas breeders. [​IMG]

I don't think they need to be show quality per se, but I would like longtails that actually grow, you know, looooong shiny tails. I understand there's a good bit of grooming involved, which is fine--I already clean the coop weekly and dust with DE religiously. The new coop will have plenty of high roost space, and their run has smallish fruit trees in it for them to perch.

2. lockedhearts

lockedhearts It's All About Chicken Math

Apr 29, 2007
    Georgia
    I got 3 Silver Phoenix from Ideal in April. Unfortunately my Hen died and I now have 2 roosters. I also have A Golden that was hatched.
    The 2 I have from ideal are not "show" quality but they are nice birds. Their tails are just starting to grow and they are in less than ideal conditions for optimum tail growing at the moment.