Anyone have a travel trailer?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by fullhouse, Aug 25, 2008.

1. fullhouse

fullhouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2008
    MI
    DH and I have been considering it for about 2 years. We have 5 kids and a SUV capable of towing about 6,000 pounds. With 5 kids getting a hotel room is pricey at best [​IMG] . We have kinda looked. We know we want a quad bunk style 8-10 passenger. We know nothing else about them really. Do you know of good brands, websites with info, etc? One nice, affordable 1999 came up locally and I guess it time to get serious about what we want. Please help!

Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  2. jessupfamily

jessupfamily Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2007
    SW Indiana
    We have 6 children and we use a pop-up camper and tents. We used to live in an Airstream travel trailer, but only had 1 child (and I was pregnant!). We refer to that as one of the best periods in our lives! The only thing we have big opinions on is the power sources. Having the power available at all times is super important to us. If your driving, being able to use the power from the vehicle. When you're at a camp ground, being able to plug in and use the power from there. If you're camping in nowhere land, using battery back-up and/or your propane for power. This is mostly for lights and refrigerator purposes. But sometimes it's important for heat or air as well. Good Luck! And enjoy! We LOVE, LOVE traveling!

3. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia