1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Anyone have pet Mallards

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by claireree, Jan 30, 2011.

1. claireree

claireree Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Hello, I live in Spain and have a pair of Mallard ducks, I was wondering if anyone else out their had them and could give me any tips on keeping them, also any ideas when they start laying.

2. greekbioguy

greekbioguy Out Of The Brooder

Dec 25, 2010
    hallo i live in Greece i visited your country for a field trip when i studied biology in the UK i spend 15 days living in a camp on the Picas studying the vegetation there,i also spend around 5 days in Bilbao to rest after that. i loved Spain it looks allot like Greece.
    i used to own mallards for 10 years before i got my mandarins and wood ducks. i had to choose between them because my mallard drakes tried to murder my mandarin hens.
    i still miss having them around they are beautiful birds.
    OK they like to eat duck food (don't feed them bread or chicken food especially medicated chicken feed is definitely lethal to ducklings and i guess it does not do adults any good either , ducks relay on their gut flora to get nutrients and antibiotics kill the beneficial bacteria in their gut.
    they need some place to bath and swim they will lose their waterproofing and die of pneumonia if the do not bath regularly.
    they do not form pairs like the mandarins but the top male will form a sort of a harem. they are very cruel in their mating and females are killed (drowned ) during that sometimes especially if the banks of the pond are too steep and she is not able to get a grip while the male sinks her under the water.