Anyone have pics of Black Star Roosters?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by craftymama86, Jul 7, 2011.

1. craftymama86

craftymama86 Chillin' With My Peeps

Just to compare, I'd like to see other BS roosters. We have a young roo I'm told is a BS. The father was BR and the mother is RIR. Right now he looks like a little BR but I know how much they can change as they grow. I'll have to take pics to show what he looks like now. [​IMG] Thanks!

2. Bravo

Bravo Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2009
    CA
    You've got it reversed. The mother needs to be a BR and the father a RIR.

I don't know if a RIR x BR would equal a black star though, more like golden comet? I'm no sexlink expert, though.

3. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    golden comet is NOT the reverse cross because the reverse cross doesnot result in sexlink coloring.

I have 2 black stars; they are barred but not the clean black and white of a barred rock, rather gray and black. One is the head guy and bodywise looks like a heavy built leghorn; the second is built like a hen.

Sorry don't know how to add pics.

4. craftymama86

So my young roo is a Black Star? Father was BR and mother RIR.

5. cmfarm

cmfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2010
    Elgin, TX
    Black Star is really not a breed, it is just a fancy name the hatcheries gave to sex links probably to sell more of them. In order to get sex links out of that cross you have to have a red roo over a barred hen, or else it will not come out sexlinked. If you do it the other way around it will just be a hybrid and you won't be able to tell girls and boys apart.

6. craftymama86

I know these "mix" are not a "breed" but I'm open to using the terms others use especially since my MIL doesn't really like me calling them "sex link".

And you're saying that a black sex link comes from a red roo and a barred hen? So is it not a BSL if the roo is barred and the hen is red?

7. Ridgerunner