Anyone have SQ Pekin ducks? Pics

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by FlChickie, Nov 10, 2011.

1. FlChickie

FlChickie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2010
    Citrus County, Florida
    I currently have 6 pekins and I just love them. My neighbors daughter wants to show one in the fair next year and I'm just wondering what a SQ pekin is suppose to look like and if mine are close to the standard. I don't want her to be crushed if my ducks aren't up to par. I think they are beautiful, but I would like to know what they look for.

The drake would be the one she wants to show.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

But she also likes my girl daisy shown in front in this photo, but her beak is a bit lighter and has a few dark spots on it.
    [​IMG]

Any feedback would be great. I'm just getting into ducks so I'm still learning.

2. stuckinthecity

stuckinthecity Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2009
    I don't know what a SQ pekin should look like either, but they sure are beautiful!! Do your hens ever go broody?

3. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia
    I know that standards do differ between countries- but here is a nice looking Australian Standards Show Quality Pekin.

Still only young- this one still has a little growing to do .

[​IMG]

4. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    [​IMG] thats a big duck!

5. FlChickie

FlChickie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2010
    Citrus County, Florida
    Quote:Thank you!

No luck on them going broody yet, but I'm hoping.

duckyfrommoz that is a beautiful duck!

6. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    They are all wonderful ducks! I love em! Wish I had room [​IMG]

7. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia