Anyone know about dubbing frostbite?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by NYRIR, Jan 27, 2011.

1. NYRIR

NYRIR Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Petersburg,NY
    My roos got frostbite [​IMG] I think I should dub them but need to know how far down to do it...and if it would be a bad idea to do it now? One I think may have a bit of infection...not sure.I put triple antibiotic ointment on it this am.Should I wait on him? I HATE to do it at all but some of the points are black...and obviously dead tissue.
    [​IMG] I hate winter!!!
    Thank you for any helpful advice!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Don't cut, just keep applying the antibiotic. the blk will dry up and it will fall off on it's own.

3. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Quote:+1

I have no personal experience with frostbite, but have read others' accounts of how it will fall off by itself.

4. odd87

odd87 New Egg

Feb 2, 2009