Anyone know how to help/treat this goose?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by VictoriaP, Mar 18, 2017.

1. VictoriaP

VictoriaP New Egg

May 6, 2016
    Hey!

I work as a wildlife rehabber and yesterday someone brought in a greylag goose that seems to be in pretty rough shape. The clinic I work at doesn't see many waterfowl and I'm thinking of adopting him (or her), so I'd love any help I can get.

Behaviorally, the goose seems fine. He grooms and he eats. He isn't terrified of people, but he isn't at ease around them. He ate from my hand today, though.

Physically, he's almost deformed. He can't extend his wings and he can't fly. He's missing feathers as visible in the photos. He has bumblefoot. His neck is tilted and his tail is permanently pitched to the side. He can swim, though not as gracefully as other geese.

I don't know anything about his history, but I assumed he was kept in a cage for his entire life. Are these physical traits characteristic of growing up in a confined, dirty space? What can I do to help the feathers grow back? Would physical therapy help with wing extension?

Also, can anyone estimate his age (he weighs 3.15 kg)? Can anyone sex him based on the photos?

I plan on taking him to an avian vet when he is calmer and more settled in, but for the time being I'd appreciate any help!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
  2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
  3. VictoriaP

VictoriaP New Egg

May 6, 2016
    Thank you!

4. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    @VictoriaPWelcome to BYC! He is odd looking, isn't he? Might be helpful to see more pictures.
    The tail looks like "wry tail", which is no big deal as long as he can walk. The bumble foot could be life threatening if it's bad enough, so might be best to have a vet look at it.
    @Miss Lydia
    @Amiga
    @RavynFallen

Last edited: Mar 20, 2017