Anyone know how to help/treat this goose?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by VictoriaP, Mar 19, 2017.

1. VictoriaP

VictoriaP New Egg

May 6, 2016
    Hey!

I work as a wildlife rehabber and yesterday someone brought in a greylag goose that seems to be in pretty rough shape. The clinic I work at doesn't see many waterfowl and I'm thinking of adopting him (or her), so I'd love any help I can get.

Behaviorally, the goose seems fine. He grooms and he eats. He isn't terrified of people, but he isn't at ease around them. He ate from my hand today, though.

Physically, he's almost deformed. He can't extend his wings and he can't fly. He's missing feathers as visible in the photos and he has a ton of broken feather shafts. He has bumblefoot on both feet. His neck is tilted and his tail is permanently pitched to the side. He can swim, though not as gracefully as other geese.

I don't know anything about his history, but I assumed he was kept in a cage for his entire life. Are these physical traits characteristic of growing up in a confined, dirty space? What can I do to help the feathers grow back? Would physical therapy help with wing extension?

Also, can anyone estimate his age (he weighs 3.15 kg)? Can anyone sex him based on the photos?

I plan on taking him to an avian vet when he is calmer and more settled in, but for the time being I'd appreciate any help!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. cityfarmer12

cityfarmer12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    Missouri
    Despite his problems, he is a cutie! I've never had to deal with many goose problems (haha, guess i'm lucky to have healthy geese), so i'm not much help on how to fix him up. Taking him to an avian vet would most likely be a really great idea.