Anyone not have problems with Mites and Lice?

Rocky Top Chick

Songster
10 Years
Feb 2, 2009
North Carolina
I have had chickens over two years and have never experiences lice or mites, but it seems everyone else does. I check them out very carefully. Anyone out there who has not experience this either? Just wondering!

Last edited:
No lice or mites here. Not a single one. No fleas on the rabbits either. We keep our little buddies clean and happy.

I'm still really new at this (3 months), but I haven't seen any signs lice/mites- even though my elderly neighbor assures me that all chicken have lice. (He was concerned about my kids handling them.) I even had a friend who was experienced with chickens come over and check them. I don't do any special treatments on them, just keep the coop and run clean.

Your bound to get them at some point unless you use something like ivermectin pour on. I treat my whole flock every 3 months with that stuff and haven't had a problem with mites/lice/or internal parasites.

The whole year we've had our's, we didn't have mites or lice. When we intially put in the shavings and hay for the nest, I dusted them thoroughly with DE. Then a few months ago, we cleaned the flooring and bedding. I replaced the shavings and hay but forgot to dust with DE. Now I've noticed little tiny bugs on my arm and crawling up the wall near a mama and her babies. It was at night and I don't see them during the day or on the chickens, so it makes me think probably mites. Today, I dumped all the flooring and will be replacing it tomorrow with new hay (nice neighbor gave it to me) and some DE and poultry dust. Nests will get replaced too.

I don't want it to get out of hand but from what I've read they are extremely hard to get rid of. And I just hate using chemicals but everyone says DE alone will not get rid of them but will help deter them if you don't have them to begin with.