1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Anyone set yesterday or today?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by andisgarden, Sep 17, 2009.

1. andisgarden

andisgarden Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2009
    I am a newbie and I just sat 18 Maran eggs yesterday and I would love to have a hatching friend. Is anyone interested?

Thanks,

Andrea

2. dancingbear

dancingbear Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2008
    South Central KY
    I just set 15 Buckeye eggs late Tues. night. Close enough, I think! Is this your 1st time? What kind of 'bator?

I have an LG, with auto-turner and fan. I have three thermometers in there right now, and a hygrometer from Egg Cartons .com.

There's another thread about therms and stuff I need to post some pics and results on, when I find it again, I'll link to it when I do.

3. texasbartrambaby

texasbartrambaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 3, 2008
    Tulia, Texas
    I set 8 marans eggs under a first time broody yesterday afternoon! Hatching buddies!! [​IMG]

I hope she does her job - she's been broody for about two weeks. Silkie/cochin mix. She gathered all those big brown eggs under her like an expert and just fluffed up, cooed at me, and went right to sleep. [​IMG]

4. yodercountrygirl

yodercountrygirl Chillin' With My Peeps

I did today!!! My broody has been setting for 3 days now and I have been taking her eggs away but I finially gave into her today!!! [​IMG]
    Can I join the buddy list?!?! This is my first time ever!!

5. HappyVol

HappyVol Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2007
    I set 6 eggs yesterday, mixed Buff Cochin and Weyendotte. Only 6 cause I sold a friend 6 chicks and she did not have her coop quite ready and something got them all. She has redone her coop so these will be hers.
    Nancy

6. Jasper_899