Anything I should do when it is hot?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by denise70, Jul 5, 2010.

1. denise70

denise70 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2010
    Meaford, ON
    Hi everyone - I am new to this chicken game so I apologise for asking probably a really silly question!

I have 4 BR that are about 10 weeks old and although only a few short weeks ago it was only about 9°C/48°F at night, they did just fine in the coop by themselves.

However, now it is about 32°C/90°F and these poor young ladies are panting all over the yard. My yard is nearly full shade with lots of trees and they spend most of their day free ranging/hiding under my Lilac bush.

Is there anything I should do to help them cope in the heat? Obviously with our ranges in temperature in Southern Ontario they need to be flexible - but I thought there might be a treat or something I could do to help them cool off. I give my dog broth ice cubes to cool down and swims in the lake - My BR girls did get some yoghurt earlier which they enjoyed but I skipped the swims in the lake (LOL) [​IMG].

Anything else or should I not worry about them?

One thing I need to figure out is good ventilation in the summer that isn't too drafty in the winter when it is -20°C/-4°F with a killer windchill.

Thanks for your help.

2. bigdogmom130

bigdogmom130 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2009
    Glen Burnie
    I'm no expert, but my hens get plenty of shade and cold water. I have a cat litter pan filled with cold water that they love to stand in when its hot. I also keep their coop door and windows (with screens) open at night for them. . Mine go under their coop or hang out under the shade tree hanging over their run to cool off.

I also give my hens cold lettuce in a suet cake holder for them to nibble on. They love it. I suppose any cold treat would work as well. They also love cold rice. Hope this helps a little.

3. denise70

denise70 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2010
    Meaford, ON