Appetite Reduction in Winter?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by kjfrogster41, Dec 17, 2011.

1. kjfrogster41

kjfrogster41 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2011
    Belfast, ME
    Being new to this chicken thing, my girls are just 18 weeks old, I am still learning. Is it typical for them to lose some appetite in the winter? They are eating but nothing like they were a few weeks ago. Could it be because they are not growing as much now? Or, is it due to winter weather and not getting as much exercise, more confined to their pen.[​IMG]

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

No...check for worms. Just my experience.

3. NottinghamChicks

NottinghamChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:X2

4. Cindy in PA

Cindy in PA Overrun With Chickens

Jul 8, 2008
    Fleetwood, PA
    They are not growing as fast as they were. I don't think you can compare the amount of feed for a teenager & one for a nearly adult bird. If they are eating, they are fine.

5. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Actually, I notice a reduction in food consumption in winter that coincides with the flock's reduced laying. That makes sense. If a hen's body isn't producing eggs, she just doesn't need to take in the amount of nutrients needed to produce that egg.

We get regular fecal checks done on our flock by our vet and they have all come back negative. Plus, I would think that worms would make a chicken eat more to try to make up for the nutrients that are being siphoned away by the worms.

Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  6. ScottyHOMEy

ScottyHOMEy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2011
    Waldo County, Maine
    I'll be following this one with interest.

My experience is that a wormy animal will keep up or increase its regular feed consumption but lose weight at the same time, the worms eating up the difference.