araucana breathing is labored

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jeannieo, Jan 28, 2009.

1. jeannieo

jeannieo Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2008
    Collinsville, CT
    Just about an hour ago I was in the coop and one of my 5 araucanas was making strange noises, like a goose honking and then she would shake her head and make a noise like a squeaky toy. in with the the 5 araucanas are 2 RIRs, 1 BO, 2 cochin hens, 1 cochin roo, 1 silkie roo, and a "hybrid" silkie and something else. She is at the bottom of the pecking order, everybody else picks on her. I brought her in the house and she is in a crate in the bathroom. I gave her water and some scratch but she is not eating or drinking. I don't know what her poo looks like yet. I have not administered any treatment, I am new to chickens and don't know what to do. I intend to bring her to my avian vet tomorrow if she makes it through the night. I can't bring her today, we are having freezing rain right now and my vet is 45 min. away on a good day.The area they have is about 8 x 8 and I have pine shavings and using the deep litter method. I feed 16% layer pellets and leftovers and scraps, no meat, we are vegetarian. They get a little scratch about every time I go to the coop if it is cold. HELP! (please?)

Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  2. birdlover

birdlover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Northern Va.