Are 2 coops needed?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by donsgirl67, Oct 19, 2013.

1. donsgirl67

donsgirl67 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2013
    De Soto, MO
    So I'm planning my coop and learning all I can at the same time and here is my question asi see conflicting info...If I want layers and meat birds, do I have to have 2 coops to keep them and the roo separate?

2. loveourbirds

loveourbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    [​IMG]

it is best to have 2 coops, but not necessary. by having 2 coops you can raise the protein on the meat birds yielding better meat quality and faster growth. however, you can let them run with your laying hens - they will still gain weight just fine.

3. donsgirl67

Oct 15, 2013
    De Soto, MO
    If I only have one coop, how do you keep the roo from taking care f all the hens? I'm sorry. Total newb here but I really want to learn.

4. loveourbirds

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    if he did take care of the hens, you probably wont notice a difference in the eggs - unless you let them sit for to long.

if your using the cornish rock cross, you will butcher the cockerels before they are old enough to breed. the drawbacks of the one coop method is - its hard to mix chicks and hens. you may look into building a "chicken tractor" for your meat birds. buying all new materials you can build one easily for less than $100

5. loveourbirds

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    i guess i need to ask, are you wanting a dual purpose breed - or are you going with hybrids matched for egg laying, and a separate breed for meat.

6. donsgirl67

Oct 15, 2013
    De Soto, MO
    I want dual purpose.

7. loveourbirds

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio