Are chicks skittish and get calmer later?

larsonll

Chirping
8 Years
Aug 13, 2011
West Georgia
Ok, so I'm completely new to chicken keeping. Our city (small one at that) just approved an ordinance to allow 6 hens in the back yard. So, thinking I would lose some, I bought 5 chicks from a local breeder, straight run, 2 Welsummers with female markings, 2 Wheaten Marans (who knows if those are girls or boys), 1 Pumpkin Hulsey bantam (which I have later determined is an American Gamfowl...you should see all the skeptical/upset looks when I call him/her a gamefowl rather than a Pumpkin Hulsey!), and then I ordered 5 female Easter Eggers from My Pet Chicken. The MPC chicks arrived 2 days after my other chicks, who were about 5 days old...so far so good two weeks later.

So, the chicks at 2 weeks despite lots of handling run away and peep like they are upset when I reach in to get them...the EEs less so. Is this normal?

Yes it is.......... they have a high flight/run instinct when they are small. try not messing with them so much when they are so young they mellow out more as they grow and definitely avoid handling and suspected roosters.

Thank you for the quick reply...I've read EVERYTHING I can get my hands on, but was starting to get a little worried after a few weeks. The chicks were very docile at first, and now they are skittish. Glad to know that is normal.

Hens don't want snuggles until they lay that first egg. Then they are like, "THE HORROR!! HOLD ME!!!"

I am laughing so much from the last post! Thank you! I am prepared to hold that hen from the HORROR of laying the egg! This chicken keeping is the BEST! But really, I would have loved someone to hold me after my first birth....my mantra was "it could be twins!"

I thought my chicks didn't like me when they were small and thought they would grow up to be wild, but they are fine now, and really friendly and lovable, I have one who jumps into my lap and takes a nap!